Help against hackers
Instagram reports that the new feature is also to protect users from hackers: ‘We know that hackers sometimes delete content when they access an account, and until now people had no way to easily get their photos and videos back. From now on, we will ask people to first verify that they are the legitimate account holders when permanently removing or restoring content. ‘
How does Instagram’s new feature work
Photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos and stories that you want to delete will be immediately removed from your account and moved to the ‘recently deleted’ folder.
Deleted stories that are not in your archive will remain in the folder for up to 24 hours. Everything else is automatically deleted 30 days later.
During those 30 days, you can access your deleted content by going to Settings> Account> Recently Deleted in the latest version of the Instagram app. From there it can be recovered or deleted permanently.